FTA History

FTA was organized in 1937 by representatives of the North American Gasoline Tax Conference (NAGTC), the National Association of Tax Administrators (NATA), and the National Tobacco Tax Association (NTTA). In 1984, the three associations consolidated into a single organization the National Association of Tax Administrators. NAGTC became the NATA Motor Fuel Tax Section and NTTA became the NATA Tobacco Tax Section. In June 1988, NATA merged with FTA, assuming the Federation of Tax Administrators as its name.